Congress Prez approves 2 candidates for Meghalaya Assembly by-polls

Congress President, Rahul Gandhi on Thursday approved the names of two Congress candidates, who will be battling for the Ranikor and South Tura Assembly seats on August 23.

The Grand Old Party is fielding former Garo Student’s Union (GSU) leader Jackuish K Sangma as party candidate for the Ranikor by-poll, while retired principal of Tura government public school, Charlotte W Momin will contest the South Tura by election against Chief Minister, Conrad Sangma.

Congress candidate for Ranikor bypoll, Sangma is the former general secretary of GSU Khasi Hills zone. He joined the Congress in 2007. Sangma will take on former Congress legislator and NPP candidate MM Danggo, PDF nominee PN Syiem and UDP’s Pius Marwein.

South Tura party candidate, Momin was the lone applicant from the Congress from the constituency, which was earlier held by former woman MLA Agatha Sangma.

South Tura is expected to have a three-cornered contest as former legislator John Leslee Sangma will also join the fray.

Polling to both the constituencies will be held on August 23 and counting on August 27.

Facebook Comments