Mizoram: BJP leader sworn in as Chakma council member

BJP leader Shanti Jiban Chakma, who was elected leader of the United Legislature Party by the BJP and the Congress members, was sworn in as the chief executive member of the Chakma Autonomous District Council on Friday.

In the ceremony, Chakma said a new chapter has been written in the history of the council with the formation of a BJP government for the first time in the state with the support of the Congress, the ruling party in Mizoram.

All the 19 newly elected members were also sworn in by Lawngtlai deputy commissioner N. Chakkai. He administered the oath of office to Chakma, who was elected from the Chhotapansury constituency.

Election to the council was held on April 20, where the BJP won five seats, the Congress six while the MNF emerged as the single largest party with eight seats.  The BJP and the Congress took everyone by surprise by joining hands to form a post-poll alliance ahead of the Assembly election.

Chakma pledged a corruption-free government and said his BJP government will follow the party slogan, ” Sabka saath, sabka vikas“.Healso stated that his government will ensure recruitment of group A and B officers through “proper process, free of interference due to favouritism and nepotism”. He said an independent recruitment board will be constituted to mobilise this promise. In addition, he vowed to work towards an overall improvement of road conditions in the state.He was of the view that the council was lagging behind other parts of the state in education. “Nothing can be more important than education for society to progress. Education of our next generation has to be treated as the foundation of our future,” he said.Chakma announced seven members – Hiranand Tongchangya, Sanjeev Chakma, Anil Kanti Chakma and Kusum Lota Chakma of the BJP and Bubon Kumar Chakma, Onish Moy Chakma and Mohan Chakma of the Congress – to be included in the executive body.

Congress leader Buddha Lila Chakma from Vaseitlang constituency was elected as the new chairman in a special session of the council that was held on Friday. Governor Jagdish Mukhi also appointed Hiranand Tongchangya as pro tem chairman to conduct the election.


Facebook Comments